Home Again: What Now?

I adventured for two months in Mexico and seven months in Nicaragua. I’m back in Minnesota now, but closing life’s book on Squiggly’s first Central American Adventure begs the question, “…what now?” Up until a little after New Year’s I have plans to stay in the United States, but what will I do with the time between May 11th and January?

Mushroom Farm: A Curious Entrepreneurial Project

Back in Nicaragua, I watched an eye-opening documentary about the value of mushrooms in our ecological environment, and they also talked about people who harvest them and sold them. I felt a deepening passion for the subject as my eyes sparkled at the possibilities of starting a mushroom farm. In Mexico and Nicaragua, I never knew for how long I planned to stay, so I couldn’t start a mushroom farm. Now, I can open a new book concerning a mushroom creation project.

More Learning Projects

Whenever I felt most synced and happy with life, I juggled several learning projects like Spanish or the violin. I’d like to dive deeper into current learning projects like descriptive writing to put a zap in my writing. In coming home, I will also be able to return to my regular violin lessons, which makes me so happy. In Nicaragua, I couldn’t find a teacher who spoke English, and in Mexico, I found a teacher, but he didn’t challenge me enough to grow as a violinist. I have also thought about setting an hour or two aside per day to learn Python.

Where to Next?

I don’t necessarily know my next destination in life, but I have a couple different fun ideas to play with and see what I can do with them. I’m hesitant to take on new learning projects because I’ve finally reached a point where I understand the commitment to them. Instead of filling up my day with several new projects, I’d rather deepen what I’m already doing and stretch my hand for mastery in the fields I have already chosen.

 

Leave a comment